## LOCAL AUTHORITY GOVERNOR PANEL

### 19 JUNE 2023

- Present: Councillor Merry(Chairperson) Councillors Dilwar Ali, Driscoll, Hopkins, Lent, Lister and Robson
- 1 : APPOINTMENT OF CHAIR & COMMITTEE

The Committee RESOLVED to note that Council at its Annual meeting on 25 May 2023:

Appointed Councillor Sarah Merry as Chair of the Local Authority Governor Panel; and

Appointed Councillors Dilwar Ali, Sean Driscoll, Robert Hopkins, Sue Lent, Ash Lister and Adrian Robson to the Panel.

2 : TERMS OF REFERENCE

The Committee RESOLVED to note that Council at its Annual meeting on 25 May approved the following unamended Terms of Reference:

a) To advise the Council on appointments (and removal) of governors to be made by the Local Authority;

b) To consider and make decisions relating to the recruitment, training and vetting of potential governors and any other matters that may be referred to the Panel by the Cabinet or the Constitution Committee; and

c) All Members of the Committee will be required to undertake relevant training to enable them to properly discharge their duties.

3 : APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were received from Barbara Connell, Cardiff Governors Representative.

4 : DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

he following declarations of interest were received in accordance with the Members' Code of Conduct:

Councillor	Item Number and School	Nature of Interest	
Councillors Merry,	6a – Thornhill Primary	Personal – fellow Councillor	
Ali, Driscoll,	School		
Hopkins, Lent,			
Lister & Robson			
Councillor Lister	6b – Allensbank Primary	Personal – applicant is	
	School	personal friend	
Councillors Ali,	6b – Cathays High School	Personal – fellow Councillor	
Driscoll, Hopkins,	and Gladstone Primary		

Lent & Robson	School	
Councillor Merry	6b – Cathays High School and Gladstone Primary School	Prejudicial – Referee and fellow Cabinet Member
Councillor Lister	6b – Cathays High School and Gladstone Primary School	Prejudicial – fellow Cabinet Member
Councillors Merry, Ali, Driscoll, Hopkins, Lister & Robson	6b - Howardian Primary School	Personal – fellow Councillor
Councillor Lent	6b – Howardian Primary School	Prejudicial – Applicant
Councillors Merry, Ali, Driscoll, Lent, Lister & Robson	6b – Lakeside Primary School	Personal – fellow Councillor
Councillor Hopkins	6b – Howardian Primary School	Prejudicial - Applicant
Councillors Merry, Ali, Driscoll, Hopkins, Lent, Lister & Robson	6b – Llanedeyrn Primary School	Personal – fellow Councillor
Councillors Merry, Lister and Hopkins	6b – Gillian James	Personal – applicant is known in work capacity

### 5 : LOCAL AUTHORITY SCHOOL GOVERNOR VACANCIES

The Committee RESOLVED to note the list of Local Authority School Governor Vacancies received.

6 : EXCLUSION OF THE PUBLIC

The Committee RESOLVED that the public be excluded for the following items of business as they contain exempt information by virtue of Paragraph 12 and 21 of Parts 4 and 5 of the Local Government Act 1972.

### 7 : NOMINATIONS TO LOCAL AUTHORITY GOVERNOR VACANCIES

The Committee received and considered applications to current vacancies against criteria, matching skills to vacancies.

RESOLVED – That the Council be recommended to approve the recommendations of the Panel to appoint the following persons to current Local Authority Governing Body vacancies as follows:

School Name	Ward	Start of Vacancy	Application Received
Howardian	Penylan	06/05/2022	Elizabeth Edwards
Primary School			
Meadowbank	Llandaff North	01/09/2022	Glenda Dudley

School			
The Hollies School	Pentwyn	05/01/2023	Sheila Davies
Thornhill Primary School	Llanishen	19/04/2023	Cllr Emma Reid-Jones
Whitchurch Primary School	Whitchurch & Tongwynlais	10/03/2023	David Fowkes
Windsor Clive Primary School	Ely	29/03/2022	Patrick O'Neill
Ysgol Gyfun Gymraeg Glantaf	Llandaff North	15/12/2023	lan Speakman
Ysgol Gymraeg Melin Gruffydd	Whitchurch & Tongwynlais	30/09/2022	Sion Dafydd

The Committee received and considered applications to future vacancies against criteria, matching skills to vacancies.

RESOLVED – That the Council be recommended to approve the recommendations of the Panel to appoint the following persons to future Local Authority Governing Body vacancies as follows:

School Name	Ward	Start of Vacancy	Application Received
Allensbank	Gabalfa	13/09/2023	Sergey Popov
Primary School		13/09/2023	Nirushan Sudarsan
Cathays High School	Gabalfa	25/092023	Cllr Norma Mackie
Creigiau Primary School	Creigiau & St Fagans	25/09/2023	Amanda Bouadana
Ffederasiwn y	Trowbridge/	02/09/2023	Glyn Conoll
Ddraig	Llanrumney	02/09/2023	Rachel Robjohn
Gladstone Primary School	Cathays	13/09/2023	Cllr Norma Mackie
Howardian Primary School	Penylan	25/09/2023	Cllr Sue Lent
Lakeside Primary School	Cyncoed	13/09/2023	Cllr Robert Hopkins
Llanedeyrn Primary School	Pentwyn	17/09/2023	Cllr Joe Carter
Llanishen Primary School	Llanishen	13/09/2023	Sarah Hopkins
Llysfaen Primary School	Lisvane	25/09/2023	Caroline Du Cann
Millbank Primary School	Caerau	26/09/2023	Gillian James
Pen y Bryn Primary School	Llanrumney	13/09/2023	David Simpson
Pontprennau Primary School	Pontprennau & Old St Mellons	13/09/2023	Joanne Nicholas
Radnor Primary School	Canton	13/09/2023	Meriel Ansell

Trelai Primary School	Caerau	13/09/2023	Lois Robinson
Tremorfa Nursery School	Splott	13/09/2023	Hannah Chivers
Ysgol Gymraeg Nant Caerau	Caerau	13/09/2023	Rebecca Anderson

# 8 : URGENT ITEMS (IF ANY)

There were no urgent items

### 9 : DATE OF NEXT MEETING

The next meeting of the Panel is scheduled for 18 September at 2.00 pm

The meeting terminated at 2.50 pm